Log in

MVW Awards Banquet
Tuesday, November 11, 2003

Club Treasurer Steve Sams put on the best party yet, on a Tuesday evening in November. The big party room at the Brewery was filled with folks enjoying one-another's company. The enthusiasm was not altogether related to the bar - folks were celebrating a fine season and planning for another one next year.

Clockwise, from the lower right: 
First Junior Corey Brinkman (had bunches of medals)
Senior Adam Slough; Club Champion Matt Thourot
Sprint Champion Andy Hague
Wheelman Of The Year Karen McKee 
2002 Pavé awardee, Dr. Jon Wright, passing to Scott Loeke
Most Improved and First Master Jeff Crawford
Time Trial Champ Matt Thourot
Mark Armstrong & Karen McKee
Julie & Charlie Westerink. 

Perennial club supporter Scott Main will be President in 2004, replacing long-serving Jim Allen. 

Vice President Dr Steve Clark, Treasurer Steve Sams and Rider Rep Tony Gwin will serve again next year. 
National distance champion Karen McKee is Race Director, letting Matt Thourot concentrate on keeping the Masters at bay next year. Karen will be floating a new age group next year: the Golden Buckeyes (55+)

Webmaster Dave Barnes complained about that 55+, saying he could probably compete in a Geezer category at 65+ - but we'd have to recruit a few of those. He forgot his complaints when he was given a beautiful memento, for which heartfelt thanks to everyone.

by Dave Teall

© Maumee Valley Wheelmen
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software