Log in

MVW Awards Banquet
November 1999

A roomful of Wheelmen celebrated a fine racing season at the Spaghetti Warehouse in downtown Toledo.

The MVW banquet and awards presentation at the Spaghetti Warehouse was an enjoyable evening for all who attended. The evening featured a cash bar, a limited Spaghetti Warehouse menu to keep the price down, followed by the awards presentation, dessert, and conversation.

The top three riders in each age division received a new style of trophy which featured a small statue of a cyclist climbing a hill, mounted on a wooden plaque. The rotating trophies were presented following the age group trophies. Matt Thourot claimed the Overall MVW Championship trophy which goes to the rider who accumulates the most points for all club races. Matt was still a little amazed that he was able to win the Overall trophy. The Wheelman of the Year award went to Mike Hall for the volunteer work he has performed at innumerable Wheelmen races. 

Although their were several riders who improved significantly this year, Mike House will receive the Most Improved Rider award, for his outstanding improvement and performance this year. Will McLaughlin improved his sprint this year and he and Jeff Ray will share the Sprint Championship trophy. Will will also receive Club Time Trial Championship trophy for his dominating time trial performances this year. . Sherry Simon


                                                                                               Mike Hall                             Mike House

© Maumee Valley Wheelmen
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software